(SAQCC – South African Qualification and Certification Committee)



  • SANS 10227, Code of Practice for the evaluation of the technical competence of inspection authorities for the certification of vessels under pressure, requires that personnel responsible for inspection, testing and verification of non-destructive testing shall have sound technical and professional training and certification which meets the minimum requirements of the South African Qualification Committee for Inspectors of Pressurised Equipment (SAQCC-IPE).
  • This document provides the guidelines and requirements for application for certification as an Inspector of Pressurised Equipment (IPE).


  • It is the responsibility of the applicant for SAQCC-IPE Certification to complete SAQCC-IPE application forms
  • It is the responsibility of the SAIW Certification Administration Controller-Certification to provide the applicant with Application for Certification forms and to forward the completed application forms and related documents to the SAQCC-IPE committee for assessment and to inform applicants of assessment results
  • It is the responsibility of the SAQCC-IPE committee to assess application for IPE Certification, in accordance with this procedure:

Requirements for certification

In order to qualify for certification, the applicant shall:

  • Welding and fabrication inspection
  • Evaluation of non-destructive testing and/or examinations, with specific emphasis on radiographic interpretation
  • The content of design and manufacturing codes commonly used by industry
  • The Occupational Health and Safety Act (Act 85 of 1993), Pressurised Equipment Regulations R734 and the Mine Health and Safety Act of 1996
  • The applicant for IPE certification must hold current certification in radiographic interpretation resulting from independent certification examination
  • Meet the minimum practical and classroom training requirements as detailed in this procedure
  • Be capable and physically able to perform all activities involved, and shall:
  • Submit proof of visual acuity tested within the last six months:
  • Such that the applicant is able to read J1 (or N5) sized letters of the standard Jaeger or equivalent test chart at 300mm and J7 (or N10) at 1000mm, with at least one corrected or uncorrected eye, and
  • Of at least 6/6 on a Snellen Chart or orthorator
  • Have clinically assessed normal fields of vision


Download Examination Rules.pdf


  • Application forms may be obtained from:

The Administrator
P O Box 527
Tel: 011 298 2100, Fax: 011 836 4132

  • The applicant shall return application forms together with certified supporting documentation, to the SAIW Certification Administration Controller-Certification
  • Applicants may be requested to present themselves for an interview with the SAQCC-IPE committee and will be advised in writing should such an interview be required
  • Applicants will be advised in writing as to whether their application has been successful or not
  • Unsuccessful applicants may appeal in writing on the decision of the SAQCC-IPE committee and request further information as to the reasons for their unsuccessful Application for Certification
  • In no instance will information concerning unsuccessful applicants be divulged by the committee to any third party


  • Successful applicants will receive a Code of Ethics and a uniquely numbered certificate
  • Certification is subject to periodic renewal at intervals of three years and re-certification after nine years
  • All certificates issued will be recorded in the SAQCC-IPE National Register of Inspectors of Pressurised Equipment and the names of successful applicants will be published on the SAIW website, which will be accessible by the public


Re-certification after nine years can be achieved by the certificate holder passing a limited examination on:

  • The relevant legislation, regulations and codes governing new construction of pressurised equipment
  • Inspection and test methods

This examination is in addition to the standard conditions for the three and six year renewal.

Certificate holders must apply for renewal and/or re-certification prior to the expiry of their current certificate. On completion of each renewal and re-certification cycle, the periodic maintenance of certification starts again as described.